Savannah Christian's Triple Threat Athlete Jamari McIvory Tackles, Sprints, and Scores the 71st Ashley Dearing Award

By Prep Sports Report Staff | May 1, 2024

Share This Story

The Ashely Dearing Award, a tradition in the Chatham County high school sports community, is given annually to the most versatile male high school student-athlete in Chatham County. This year, the honor goes to Savannah Christian senior Jamari McIvory. McIvory is the 71st Ashley Dearing Award winner. McIvory is a standout athlete at Savannah Christian, excelling in football, basketball, and track and field.

As a Raider Football Player, Northern Illinois University recruited him to play football, and he signed a letter of intent with the Huskies two months ago in February. McIvory played defensive back and wide receiver this past season, helping lead Savannah Christian to the GHSA Class AAA state championship game. He had a remarkable season, recording seven interceptions and making 32 tackles from his safety position. Additionally, McIvory was a valuable offensive player, scoring eight touchdowns and accounting for nearly 400 yards. He was named to the All-Region team.

As a starter on the Raider basketball team, Jamari averaged 9 points, six rebounds, and 1.3 assists per game. He was named to the GHSA Coaches All-Region Region 3A honorable mention the last two seasons.

SCPS head boy's basketball Coach Zach Darling said, "Jamari is a kid who just puts his head down and works. He wants to compete and do whatever he can to help his team win. He loves his teammates, his coaches, and Savannah Christian and gave us everything he had."  

In Track and Field last May, McIvory won the Class 3A 200 meters and the 400 meters in the GHSA state track and field meet. He was recognized as the All-Greater Savannah Male Track and Field Athlete of the Year. He has continued to dominate and secured the GHSA Region 3-3A crowns in the 200 and 400 meters last Friday. Also, during Friday's region meet, he finished second in the 100 meters.

McIvory is Savannah Christian's 10th recipient of the Dearing Award, succeeding Demetrius Robertson, who won it in 2016. Zayden Edwards, a junior at St. Andrew's School, came in second place in the voting for the Dearing Award. Seniors James Tisby of Beach High School and La'Don Bryant of Benedictine Military School tied for third place.

The winner of the award is determined by a vote. The voters consist of athletic directors from both public and private schools in Chatham County, as well as members of the local media. To be eligible for the competition, nominees must have participated in football, basketball, and a spring sport.



2024 - Jamari McIvory, Savannah Christian

2023 — Jake Merklinger, Calvary Day

2022 — Mike Cabellero, Windsor Forest

2021 — Trent Broadnax, Benedictine

2020 — Gavin Stewart, Benedictine

2019 — Winston Wright, Memorial Day

2018 — Javonte Middleton, Jenkins

2017 — Calvin Turner, New Hampstead

2016 — Demetris Robertson, Savannah Christian

2015 — Brad Stewart, Benedictine

2014 — Brad Stewart, Benedictine

2013 — Paris Baker, Jenkins

2012 — Johnathon Chamblee, Savannah Christian

2011 — Dom DeMasi, Calvary Day

2010 — Dom DeMasi, Calvary Day

2009 — Jesse Morrell, Bethesda

2008 — John Moesch, Savannah Country Day

2007 — Scott Reed, Groves

2006 — Demarcus Dobbs, Calvary Day

2005 — Kellen Stanley, Savannah Christian

2004 — Sage Glasper, Groves

2003 — Joey Boaen, Savannah Country Day

2002 — Ben Patrick, Jenkins

2001 — Lamar Owens Jr., Benedictine

2000 — Danny McNamara, Benedictine

1999 — Rashad Chisholm, Savannah High

1998 — Kris Edge, Savannah Christian

1997 — Tommy McNamara, Benedictine

1996 — Terry Bryant, Johnson

1995 — Ronnie Rockett, Jenkins

1994 — Majiid Lanier, Beach

1993 — Bill Sparks, Savannah Country Day

1992 — Barry Kleinpeter, Calvary

1991 — Marcel Cooper, Groves

1990 — Lloyd Rowland, Savannah Christian

1989 — Pee Wee Kelley, Savannah Christian

1988 — Keith Jones, Savannah High

1987 — Corey Ladson, Tompkins

1986 — Lee Lane, Calvary Day

1985 — Peter Brennan, Benedictine

1984 — Earl Mason, Groves

1983 — Paul Jurgensen, Benedictine

1982 — Robbie White, Savannah Christian

1981 — Greg Amick, Savannah Country Day

1980 — Larry Brobst, Savannah Christian

1979 — Lamar Owens, Tompkins

1978 — Randy Lanier, Benedictine

1977 — Mark Grainger, Savannah Christian

1976 — Rufus Kelly, Savannah High

1975 — Ricky McBride, Groves

1974 — Shan Saunders, Savannah Country Day

1973 — Jo Jo White, Richard Arnold

1972 — Gene Dotson, Benedictine

1971 — Lawrence Maner, Benedictine

1970 — Bobby Reagan, Savannah Country Day

1969 — David Sasser, Groves

1968 — Joby Wright, Johnson

1967 — Julian Smiley, Savannah High

1966 — Peter Schmidt, Savannah Country Day

1965 — Roger Grove, Groves

1964 — Danny Sims, Savannah High

1963 — Dewey Warren, Jenkins

1962 — Tommy Brennan, Benedictine

1961 — Larry Patterson, Benedictine

1960 — Terry Tyler, Savannah High

1959 — Ronnie Braddock, Benedictine

1958 — Jimmy Miller, Savannah High

1957 — Tom Brown, Benedictine

1956 — Carlos Mobley, Savannah High

1955 — Charlie Moore, Benedictine

1954 — Elmer Lott, Savannah High


Photo Credit: Savannah Christian Prep social media pages

FOLLOW the Prep Sports Report on Twitter @PrepSav and Instagram savannahsportsreport. If you have any scores, information, or story ideas to share, please email

You May Like

The "Coach" Karl DeMasi has been teaching and coaching for the past 35 years on all levels of academia and athletics. One of his hobbies has been writing, announcing and talking about sports. DeMasi has been involved in the Savannah Area sports scene since 1995, and he created the high school magazine "The Prep Sports Report" in 2000. In 2010, the "Coach" started broadcasting The Karl DeMasi Sports Report. He's still going strong, broadcasting on Facebook live and Twitter live every Saturday morning. You gotta love it!

The Latest News