Savannah Area All-Region Teams - It is All Here - Boys & Girls from GHSA, GISA, SCISA, & GAPPS

By Prep Sports Report Staff | March 16, 2021

Share This Story

Who received recognition from the local prep hoop coaches this season? The high school basketballs have been stored from an uncommon 2020-2021 season. The region coaches from their respective regions got together to pick all-region and all-state teams. The Savannah, Georgia area had a lot of local players and coaches get recognized from the player of the year, to the coach(s) of the year, to all-state, and to all-region honors.

The All-region teams were announced over the last month from the Georgia High School Association (GHSA), the Georgia Independent Schools Association (GISA), the South Carolina Independent Association (SCISA), and the Georgia Association of Private & Parochial Schools (GAPPS) coaches. Here is the list of all local players and coaches who received an honor. The girl's team is posted first, then followed by the boy's teams.



AAAAAA - Region 2

First Team

Melanie Zeigler – South Effingham

Kyra Finley – Richmond Hill

Azaria Johnson – Richmond Hill

Second Team

Elena Hairston – South Effingham

Zoraya Thornton – Richmond Hill

AAAA - Region 3

Coach of the Year: Jamie Salas – Islands

Player of the Year: Veronica Sierzant – Islands

Defensive Player of the Year: Shailyn Frazier – Jenkins

Newcomer of the Year: Makenzie Williams – New Hampstead

First Team

Veronica Sierzant – Islands

Hannah Summerall – Islands

Shailyn Frazier – Jenkins

Storie Daise – Jenkins

Makenzie Williams – New Hampstead

Second Team

Devin Long – Islands

Maree Simpson – Islands

Kerri Washington – Islands

Ashlynn McKay – Jenkins

Aaliyah Murray – Jenkins

Raven Dunham – New Hampstead

Adiah Gray – New Hampstead

Makayla Gray – New Hampstead

AAA - Region 3

Coach of The Year: Olufemi Gordon – Beach

Co-Players of The Year: Kaila Rougier – Beach; Amani Hamilton – Johnson-Savannah

First Team

Lyrick McMillan – Savannah

Paris Washington – Savannah

K’lya Hankerson – Johnson-Savannah

Tiana Williams – Johnson-Savannah

Destiney Whitehead – Beach

Ameyah Dantzler – Beach

Amiya Pretty – Beach

Allejah Moultrie – Beach

Brittany Linton – Windsor Forest

Second Team

Destiny Washington – Groves

Marlee Burner – Johnson-Savannah

Tania Bryant – Savannah

Zhane Brooks – Savannah

Nashay Brooks – Windsor Forest

Destiny Grider – Liberty County

Le’Riyah Bryant – Johnson-Savannah

Alexis Brockington – Beach

Aaliyah Williams – Beach

AA - Region 2

First Team

Janiyah Hayward – Woodville-Tompkins

A - Private Region 3

Player of the Year: Mahkayla Premo – Calvary Day

First Team

Abby Nicholson – Savannah Country Day

Olivia Carney – Savannah Country Day

Hannah Cail – Calvary Day

Mallory Robinett – Savannah Christian

Emma Cowart – St. Vincent’s

Second Team

Catherine Goodman – Savannah Country Day

Amelia Wylly – Savannah Country Day

Tynley Smeltzer – Calvary Day

Faith Bullied – Savannah Christian

Amber Beddow – St. Vincent’s

GISA AAA Region 2

Kinnett Howard - St. Andrew’s School

Stella Oelschig - St. Andrew’s School

GAPPS I-A South Region


Peyton Burnsed - The Habersham School


Peyton Burnsed - The Habersham School

Anna Thompson - The Habersham School

Jenna Kate Welch - The Habersham School




AAAAAA - Region 2

Coach of the Year: Bill Henderson – Richmond Hill

Co-Players of the Year: Jaeden Marshall – Richmond Hill; Keion Wallace – Effingham County

Defensive Player of the Year: Caleb Williams – Effingham County

First Team

Khiry Wallace – Effingham County

Brayden Baker – Richmond Hill

Leighton Finley – Richmond Hill

Liam Markgraf – Richmond Hill

Mitchell Pollard – South Effingham

Second Team

Nijajuan Youmans – Richmond Hill

Andrew Butler – South Effingham

Ameer Pollak – South Effingham

AAAA Region 3

Coach of the Year: Jeffrey William – New Hampstead

Co-Players of the Year: Jerrell Floyd – Jenkins; Alaris Wall – New Hampstead


DeAndre Smart – New Hampstead

Brysen Nunn – New Hampstead

Darean Sewell – New Hampstead

Trent Broadnax – Benedictine

Christian Neely – Benedictine

Hunter Lanier – Benedictine

Charles Williams III – Jenkins

Rayqwan Allen – Jenkins

Jerrod Finney – Jenkins

Jadon Adams – Islands

Jeremiah Gabriel – Islands

AAA Region 3

Coach of the Year: Kevin Evans – Groves

Player of the Year: Shamar Norman – Windsor Forest

First Team

Emondre Bowles – Johnson-Savannah

Javante Landy – Beach

Jerald Colonel – Groves

Antonio Baker – Johnson-Savannah

Jermaine Edwards – Savannah

D’Ante Bass – Windsor Forest

Ray Williams – Windsor Forest

Tremaine Johnson – Groves

Second Team

AJ Williams – Southeast Bulloch

Larry Johnson – Beach

Tyler Griffin – Southeast Bulloch

Mike Cabellero – Windsor Forest

JaHeim Robinson – Johnson-Savannah

James Leach – Beach

Joe Maxwell – Windsor Forest

Michael Washington – Savannah

Dylan Boone – Johnson-Savannah

I’Keen Johnson – Groves

AA Region 2

First Team

Antonio Hunt – Woodville-Tompkins

Zion Powers – Woodville-Tompkins

Second Team

Lukas Platauna – Woodville-Tompkins

A Private Region 3

Coach of the Year: Robert Walsh – Savannah Christian

Player of the Year: Parker All – Savannah Christian

First Team

Thomas Davidson – Savannah Christian

Cooper George – Savannah Christian

Erik Brown – Savannah Country Day

Gray Grayson – Savannah Country Day

Juwan Johnson – Calvary Day

Dayyan O’Neal – Calvary Day

Second Team

Charles Moore – Savannah Christian

Riley Bragg – Calvary Day

Ethan Myers – Savannah Country Day

GISA AAA - Region 2

All-State: - Zyere Edwards - St. Andrew’s School


Zyere Edwards - St. Andrew’s School

Zion Griffin - St. Andrew’s School

Kegan Kurinij - St. Andrew’s School

Samuel Rolland-Mills  St. Andrew’s School

GISA AA - Region 2

All-State: George White - Memorial Day School


George White - Memorial Day School

DaNia Brewer - Memorial Day School

Sean Stoddard- Memorial Day School


Co-Coach of the Year: Clevan Thompson - Bethesda

Player of the Year: Donte Dorman - Bethesda

First Team 

Donte Dorman - Bethesda

Antjuan McKay - Bethesda

Second Team 

Joshua Quarterman - Bethesda


GAPPS I-A South Region


Thomas Tift - The Habersham School

Wils Childress - The Habersham School


Thomas Tift - The Habersham School

Wils Childress - The Habersham School

Thomas Graham - The Habersham School

Photo Credit - DWASHAWN the Photographer

Optim Orthopedics supports Benedictine Military School, South Effingham High School, Richmond Hill High School, and Savannah Country Day School athletics.  Benedictine Military School's team doctor is Dr. David Sedory. The team doctor for Richmond Hill and South Effingham  is Dr. David Palmer. And Dr. Thomas Alexander is the team doctor for Savannah Country Day. Remember, Optim Orthopedics gets you back into the game!

You May Like

The "Coach" Karl DeMasi has been teaching and coaching for the past 35 years on all levels of academia and athletics. One of his hobbies has been writing, announcing and talking about sports. DeMasi has been involved in the Savannah Area sports scene since 1995, and he created the high school magazine "The Prep Sports Report" in 2000. In 2010, the "Coach" started broadcasting The Karl DeMasi Sports Report. He's still going strong, broadcasting on Facebook live and Twitter live every Saturday morning. You gotta love it!

The Latest News